My (Wedding) Health Goals

Folks, it’s crunch time. It was easy talking about my hopes and dreams for hitting the gym back in August, but at the turn of the new year, I knew I had to set real goals I could stick to day in and day out.

Before I go into the details, let me first say that I honestly have just one end goal in mind: to look and feel my absolute best when I take that anticipated walk down the aisle toward my future hubby. Does that mean shedding a couple pounds? Sort of. It mainly means feeling tight, toned and confident in my dress and emotionally energized and refreshed.

I’m actually not regularly stepping on a scale in these next few months. I’m mainly going on how I feel in my clothes and what I see when I look in the mirror, because as we know, the scale only tells part of the story. My skinniest has not always equaled my most toned in the past. But there are real goals I’m working toward every day. Here are a few of them.

Countdown to 200 miles
Countdown to 200 miles

I’m doing the Tone It Up bridal challenge. In other words, in the four months leading up to my wedding, I want to run 200 miles. That’s right—about 50 a month/12.5 a week/1.8 a day. I’m not going to drive myself bonkers trying to meet that exact number, but I’m going to do everything in my power to get damn close. This will help hold me accountable during my workouts and give me that extra nudge when I want to get off the treadmill. I thrive from checking things off of lists, so this worksheet is just begging to be crossed off!

I’m cutting carbs. Not cutting out carbs (no one wants to get on that rollercoaster ride), but rather cutting down on them. This means more green veggies, fruits, and lean proteins. Replacing a carb-y snack with Greek yogurt. Removing sugary creamer from my morning coffee. Backing away from the cookies at night and replacing them with peanut butter and granola. Of course there have been cheat meals and weak moments, but we’ve been on this “diet” since the new year—as the home’s chef, whatever I cook, Nick eats— and the both of us feel great. It’s crazy what some diet tweaks can do for your energy levels.

The gym and I are seeing each other 4x a week. I’ve always been dedicated to working out, but it’s time to bring out the big guns. Doing the same old 2-3 workouts a week isn’t going to help me get where I want to be. It’s also not going to get me to 200 miles, so I’m upping my workouts to at least four times a week. Five when my schedule allows. I’m of course running but doing more strength training as well to get the sculpted arms and back I’m craving.

See? Nothing too crazy. I’ve had goals like this before, but I’m really holding myself to this one. Between the pictures that will be taken and the honeymoon bikini that will be waiting for me the day after, I haven’t been having motivation issues. I just close my eyes and imagine how I want to feel for all the celebrations, starting with my shower and bachelorette party in April.

Honeymoon dreamin'
Honeymoon dreamin’

What fitness goals do you have for 2015?

One thought on “My (Wedding) Health Goals

Leave a Reply

