I’m Training for the Cleveland 10-Miler: 8-Week Series

Hello, friends! Today I have a very exciting announcement. In a little under eight weeks, I run my next race: the Cleveland 10 Miler!

That’s right: I’m going back to my roots. Although I’m having fun with yoga, Zumba and HIIT, I feel my best when I’m running. And since (fingers crossed) the weather is going to break soon, I can’t wait to be outside again.

For the next eight weeks, I’ll be loosely following this Hal Higdon plan to prepare and also blogging about my experience! I haven’t run a race since my half marathon in October, so I’m excited to follow a training regime again.

Rounding the corner to finish my first half marathon in 2011
Rounding the corner to finish my first half marathon in 2010

I always feel best when I’m training for a race. It gives me purpose to my weeks, knowing that after work and on the weekends I’ll be moving closer toward my goal. Not to mention that the 2012 Cleveland 10 Miler was my best race I’ve run. My friend and I finished averaging 9:50 miles. Not medal-winning by any means, but a best in my book!

I’ll go more into my personal “best practices” for training throughout the series, but some quick tips I’ve learned in the past include:

  • Focus on “foot time”: This is a tip a runner friend gave to me when I was training for my first half. If you’re scheduled to run six miles one day but can only actually run five, walk the other one mile. Your training is about being on your feet and moving for that distance. So don’t get down on yourself if you have a bad run and can’t complete your mileage at a running pace. You still traveled six miles on foot!
  • Fiber is your friend: I don’t know about you, but I get hungry when I’m training. It actually led to me gaining almost 10 pounds when preparing for my full marathon! Eat food that fills you up so you’re less likely to binge on something unhealthy. My favorite foods while training include bananas, Greek yogurt, beans, whole-grain bread for sandwiches and big spinach salads. You work hard when you train, and the last thing you’d want is for your body not to reflect it!
  • Get the gear: Training for a race is not the time to buy cheap gear. Really invest in good running shoes, a quality sports bra, sweat-wicking shirts and a nice pair of running pants. Your body will thank you when it’s not chafed and blistered.
  •  Take it all in: Always find time to be proud of yourself. A training plan is a time for you to really reflect on how far you’ve come. It’s amazing what you can do this week that you weren’t able to do last week. Be sure to take some time to enjoy the journey and revel in what you’re capable of. You’re amazing, and you’re proving it every day!

This race, I want to concentrate on feeling good and keeping a quick pace. In the past, when I’ve focused on my strength training and incorporated a lot of cross training into my weekly workouts, it’s helped me with my speed. I’ll be doing a mix of running, yoga and HIIT in the next few weeks. And every week, I’ll be giving you updates on my workouts, snacks and everything in between, to get me to April 26. Join me on my journey!

Have a great week, everyone!

One thought on “I’m Training for the Cleveland 10-Miler: 8-Week Series

Leave a Reply

