A Toast to 2014

Happy 2014, everyone!

It’s hard to believe the holidays are over and January is already in full swing. But as I said in my last post, the New Year means renewed hope and excitement for the next 12 months—a fresh start for all!

At the end of last week, I was asked to give a toast to the New Year to our company. My first thought? Yikes! I don’t think I’ve ever done a formal toast before. Does clinking glasses with girlfriends and cheers-ing to a Saturday night on the town count?! Doubtful. I was freaked out.

But by the time this post goes live, I will have already made my toast. And I’m hopeful I will have held it together, maybe gotten a laugh or two and not stammered over my words. This request from my boss inspired me to make a toast to 2014 on this blog. Because this year is going to be full of change—I can feel it. New homes, new friends, new babies, and I’m hoping some great new experiences. Raise your cup (most likely of coffee) and join me in a happy, hopeful wish for the next 365 days.

My morning drink for toasting
My morning drink for toasting

Here goes nothing…

This is a toast to everyone who reads this blog.

May 2014 bring (good) change.

The kind of change that shakes you to your core and makes you grow. The kind of change that gives you butterflies in your stomach and although you’re sort of terrified to take the leap, you do. And may you do it with strength, confidence and certainty that no matter what, you’re going to be better off for making that change.

May 2014 bring happiness.

It’s impossible to be happy all day every day. And there will be days/weeks we’re going to be moody, upset, sad, depressed or exhausted. But let’s work hard to find happiness in every day. Whether it’s an hour of curling up with a good book, a snowed-in night with a loved one or a walk in the rain—let’s live in the moment and be grateful to be alive.

May 2014 be healthful.

May we start or continue down a path of health in this New Year. Let’s cook healthy meals, have fulfilling workouts, run a 5K and hit the gym with a buddy. Let’s take a few minutes to meditate, put our smartphones down and be carefree. Because being stress-free is an excellent way to be healthy.

May 2014 be fun.

A happy life is a life well-lived. And happiness can’t be achieved without a little bit of fun. Let’s book fun weekend getaways, try new foods, drink wine with our girlfriends and sing in the shower. Because at the end of the day, God has granted us another year on this earth, and we need to make the most out of it.

Cheers, everyone! Have a great week.

Later this week, I’ll be posting some motivating fitness content to get us through this chilly week. It’s so hard to find motivation to hit the gym when it’s sub-zero, but I’ve found some solutions that are working for me so far … stay tuned!

Source: Pinterest
Source: Pinterest

What’s your wish for the new year?

3 thoughts on “A Toast to 2014

Leave a Reply

