New Year, New Goals, Same Me

The holidays are in full-swing, and that means the New Year is upon us. It’s hard to believe that 2014 is right around the corner—it seems like just a few months ago we were ringing in 2013. January 1 brings on a lot of different emotions. A bit of sadness that the holiday season is officially over and the long winter is ahead of us. A lot of hope in what the New Year will bring. A reflection and maybe a disappointment in what 2013 didn’t give to us (or rather, what we didn’t give to it).

This year was wonderful, and I’m hoping next year will be an eventful, happy and fun 12 months. But that doesn’t mean I’m not going to strive to be even better in 2014. I saw this thought-provoking graphic on my friend’s Pinterest board and thought I’d use it to frame some of my goals. Join me in setting some fun expectations for the New Year.

Source: Pinterest
Source: Pinterest

A bad habit I’m going to break: Worrying. I’m a worry wart, always have been, but this is the year that I’m truly going to work on letting go of things I can’t control—therefore opening myself up to more happiness.

A new skill I’d like to learn: I’m going to learn how to roast a chicken. I’ve refined my cooking skills this year, but in my eyes, you’re not quite domestic unless you’ve learned how to cook a bird properly.

A person I hope to be more like: My sister. She knows how to let things roll off her back, live in the moment and be a loving, forgiving person.

A good deed I’m going to do: I’m going to continue doing work for an art therapy program in my spare time.

A place I’d like to visit: I always say I want to visit somewhere I’ve never been before. I’m planning to go to Vegas in February, for the first time, and hope to go to the beach with my guy sometime in the summer or fall.

A book I’d like to read: Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. I’ve heard so much about it, and I’ve already started reading it and can’t put it down. I also want to read Born to Run and finish the Hunger Game series. In general, I just want to read more.

A letter I’m going to write: This is a hard one. I don’t write many letters anymore, so maybe I’ll be a romantic and write a love letter at some point. It’s a lost art.

A new food I’d like to try: I’m just getting into eating fish for the first time, and would love to keep expanding my palette.

I’m going to do better at: Not some much “do better,” but I’d really like to keep this blog going strong. It brings me so much joy. Sometimes fun hobbies can fall to the wayside, but I’m going to do my best to dedicate myself to this.

Happy holidays everyone! Cheers to a great 2014!

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals, Same Me

  1. I just filled out that same prompt! The highlights of mine are to stop watching so much TV, learn how to kickbox, and practice meditation more often. I printed it out and pinned it in real life on my bulletin board. Good luck with your list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

