How I Control My Appetite

Ever since I was a pre-teen, I’ve had an appetite the size of a teenage boy. I got nicknamed the bottomless pit. And although my insatiable appetite subsided through high school and college, it reared its ugly head again when I started exercising consistently. So keeping myself satisfied without totally overeating has always been a challenge of mine.

I’m shocked when some people tell me they don’t eat breakfast. Or they “forgot to eat lunch.” How do you forget to eat? I haven’t skipped a meal in 27 years! Balancing my fat/carbs/proteins is the only way to ensure I have a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack that doesn’t leave me wanting more. Also, I have a hungry boyfriend to feed. People, food is important, and a world without great meals is just a sad place I’d never want to visit.

I’m sharing a typical “day of food” in my life because I’m interested in what you eat. How do you come home and not run the cat over trying to make dinner? Or wake up not immediately thinking about breakfast? Let’s hope it’s the result of a high metabolism…

Source: buzzsugar.com "I have a very high metrabolism!"
Source: buzzsugar.com
“I have a very high metrabolism!”

Here’s my typical day meal by meal (because really, that’s the way I live)…

7:45: When I’m on my way to work, I’m drinking coffee with a splash of cream. Eyes.must.stay.open.

8:30: I’m at my office and make a beeline for the kitchen. Oatmeal with a scoop of peanut butter and chia seeds for me!

10:30: Am I a three-month-old infant who needs fed every two hours? I shut my growling stomach up with a banana or other piece of fruit and a small handful of almonds.

12:00: Thank goodness it’s time for lunch. I thought I’d never make it. Lunch is either a big salad, a salad and a sandwich or leftovers from dinner the night before.

2:30: How am I hungry again? I eat a yogurt and pray this does this trick.

4:00: Nope, didn’t work. I eat another piece of fruit or a granola bar and drink some tea.

6:30: Get out of my way. I’m a woman on a mission. Dinner, of course differs every night, but one of my favorite combos is baked chicken with brown rice and roasted veggies. And maybe a glass of wine.

Phew. I’m full just thinking about it. I’ve found if I stay ahead of my hunger, eating before I’m ravenous, and come to work armed with healthy choices, I’m less likely to raid the office candy jar. But I’m going to be honest and say that although this is a typical day, some days involve Reese’s cups, cupcakes, macaroni and cheese and other unhealthy options. Not going to lie.

This meal plan is especially important for me to stick to, considering next week will basically be the equivalent of an eating competition. Stay strong, my friends!

Leave a Reply

