My Response to the WSJ Article

Hi friends! I must say, I was planning to post about a really yummy homemade protein bar my sister perfected last time she was home from college. But then I saw this article, and the recipe post had to wait. Even though the author probably doesn’t give a hoot what I think, I still want to voice my opinion, just like he did.

To sum it up, this Wall Street Journal editorial is a vent about how most runners are people who just want attention, parading down the street in their running gear, posting selfies, visiting running stores and slapping 26.2 and 13.1 bumper stickers on their cars (guilty—I have a pink one on my car).

Source: therunningstickers.com
Source: therunningstickers.com

He’s right. Some people do run for attention and post pictures on Instagram in neon running gear, shoving it in people’s faces via every possible social media channel. But that’s just a select group of people who run. I think there is a group of yogis who overdo the “namaste” trend. And a group of Crossfitters who is crazed about their WODs. And a group of vegans. And vegetarians. And animal lovers. And liberals. And conservatives…

Man, people are obnoxious, huh?

My opinion: I think this guy needs something to stand behind. Why target a certain group of people—what do you have against them? I want to know what is wrong with getting heavily involved with something like running, or any fitness activity for that matter. Suggesting people get in their cars and drive 10 miles rather than run it—that’s just ignorant. Being into fitness beats being lazy, unhealthy and uninteresting, doesn’t it?

People have been running for decades, and many of my friends have found running to be a fulfilling way to stay in shape, be healthy and have some fun while doing it. Everyone has something that they throw themselves into and love (or at least I would hope they do) and talk about to their friends/share via social media.

I’m not going to bore you with what running has done for me. I’ve already talked about that and will continue to do so. But as far as I know, runners don’t hurt anyone. Nor do people who practice yoga or Crossfit. They have just found a lifestyle they want to pursue and share with the world. And if it weren’t for some people sharing their love for running with me, I wouldn’t have found it.

I wouldn’t have had some of my happiest, most accomplished moments in life without becoming a runner. People celebrate getting their master’s degree, raising money for charities. Why can’t we celebrate too?

One of our first races together (a 4-miler)
One of our first races together (a 4-miler)
My first half marathon in 2010
My first half marathon in 2010
Crossing the finish line after 26.2 in 2011
Crossing the finish line after 26.2 in 2011

So in the meantime, you can find me running around my neighborhood and driving to work sporting my 26.2 sticker.

Oh, and Mr. Stafko, some people truly enjoy running outside rather than chasing a treadmill belt and working out in a bacteria-infested gym when they get the chance. If you have a problem with it, why not keep your eyes on the road while you’re driving, eh?

OK, enough venting for now. Protein bar recipe will be posted soon!

Leave a Reply

