My Pinterest Party

This weekend, I did something very unlike myself. First, I walked into a craft store. Then I threw a Pinterest party and handmade a holiday wreath.

My Christmas masterpiece
My Christmas masterpiece

You guys, I don’t have a creative bone in my body. I was the kid whose art creations were hung by my mother on the fridge for the obligatory amount of time and then filed into a box in the basement. I can’t draw a straight line, and my imaginative drawings were always overshadowed by my sister’s pottery, sketches and paintings. Now that kid is an artist. I create art with words, not paint and charcoal. Believe me, I know where I stand.

One of my sister's many beautiful creations
One of my sister’s many beautiful creations

So when I logged onto Pinterest a few weeks ago, and saw a link to this wreath, I was immediately intimidated, even though it looked fairly simple. But then I thought, “If these fools can do it, well then so can I. Darn it.” I invited a group of girls over, and we crafted.

I learned that although I have no business in a craft store and could never walk in there without a detailed list and come up with a concoction of supplies to create something original, I can follow step-by-step instructions to create something pretty for my home.

Here is my friend’s wreath, and the link to the tutorial. I think hers turned out even better than the one on the website!

Tulle holiday wreath
Tulle holiday wreath

Now, we have beautiful, homemade decorations that we can hang up (after Thanksgiving, of course) and be proud of. I may not be any Picasso, but nothing beats wine, friends and something to show for it.

Have a great week, everyone!

What’s a homemade creation you’re proud of?

Leave a Reply

