Thankful: Half Marathon Edition

Sunday I was reminded again how much we need to stop and take in all the goodness in this world and be thankful for the hand we’re dealt. Why you ask? On Sunday, I ran my third half marathon.

mecamille_marathon
Me and my sister, who also ran the half marathon, but was way too fast for me to keep up.

This blog first started as a running blog, but in the past few years, my life has taken a slight turn away from serious running. Don’t get me wrong—I’ve been running fairly consistently throughout the past 3 ½ years. Although I sometimes like to do yoga, spin and strength train, running has remained the primary way I stay in shape. However, I’m not the dedicated runner I used to be. I used to run long, long distances, always be training for something, and signing up for the next race as soon as I crossed the previous race’s finish line. But life seemed to get in the way in the past year or so, and for many reasons, I just wasn’t as into it.

So when my running buddy and I signed up for the first Rock n’ Roll Marathon in our hometown, I had some mixed emotions. Then, when we started training, I really had mixed emotions. I felt like I simply didn’t have it in me anymore. I started to dread the longer runs on Saturday mornings and had a hard time finding my stride, when I used to get such a high—the longer I ran, the better I felt at the end (at least mentally).

But as the countdown to race time began early Sunday morning, I started to bubble over in excitement. And as we pounded the pavement and knocked the miles off one by one, I got happier and happier. Not in the sense that I was rededicating myself to long-distance runs, but rather reflecting upon my running career. I was blessed to be able to run 13.1 miles. I had one of my very best friends by my side, my family and boyfriend waiting for me at the finish line and a medal to hang with my others and smile about. Life is good.

We all have ups and downs, and lately, I had been anything but the motivated health nut I used to be. Somewhere in between working, celebrating summer (and now fall), spending time with those I love most and attempting to never miss a thing, I had lost my mojo for running. But during those busy times, I was lucky enough to have my health and happiness. So I dedicate those 13 and one-tenths miles to that.

This will probably be my last half marathon for a while, but I’ll never hang my running shoes up. As long as I am lucky enough to put one foot in front of the other, I’ll celebrate—I’ll have a glass of wine, I’ll read a good book, I’ll throw a party.

And I’ll run.

XO
Liv

2 thoughts on “Thankful: Half Marathon Edition

  1. Quite inspirational! What a lesson of many meanings to share about life’s every day struggles. Congrats on the marathon!

Leave a Reply

