Thankful: Thanksgiving Edition

26 Nov

It’s hard to believe it’s that time of year again. How is Thanksgiving on Thursday? I’m so excited for all the great food and company. We’re going to be at a “Friendsgiving” tonight, and then on Thursday, I’m making double of this pie for the two dinners I’ll be at, and I hope it turns out as good as the pictures!

Yes, there is.

Yes, there is.

I don’t know about you, but I always tend to get a wee bit emotional as the holidays approach. For me, it’s a very reflective time of year—I think of where my life has taken me in the past 12 months, friends I’ve gained, loved ones lost. The year usually goes by in a whirlwind, and the holidays are a time where we (try to) slow down, spend lots of time with those we love and think about where we’ve been and where we’re going.

This year has been great. It went by way too fast, but that’s because it was filled with busy weekends, fun trips, friends, family and laughter. I got a promotion at the beginning of the year, fell even more in love with my boyfriend and got to go to some pretty cool places.

This year has also been stressful. My family has had some ups and downs, some friendships hit a bumpy path. I saw people I care about go through some pretty rough times.

But no matter what deck of cards we’re dealt for the year, we must count our blessings and be thankful.

261f723cf6cc6c752575b30d9bef4e18

My mom always said “If you have your health, you have everything,” and I always try to remember this. It’s true. No matter the year’s highs and lows, God has blessed me and my loved ones with another 12 months of health and another year of being together. So Thursday, I’ll be celebrating.

Here is a short list of 13 things I’m thankful for (because it’s 2013). I hope you join me in sharing yours, or at least reflecting upon them as you read mine.

This year, I’m thankful for…

  • My boyfriend. He’s truly my best friend, and I can’t imagine a day without him. I can’t wait to see what adventures this next year brings us.
  • My mom. She’s raised me and my sister on her own for the past 12 years, and I think she’s done a pretty damn good job.
  • My sister. Even though she’s my little sister, I look up to her in so many ways. Next year, she’ll hit another milestone and graduate college with her degree in dietetics. I’m already so proud!
  • My grandma. If I didn’t have her, I’m not sure who I’d call when I burn myself baking spaghetti squash. Or need advice with a friend. Or just need someone to listen.
  • The rest of my family. Not that they aren’t important to list out individually, but I’m not sure you have the patience to read. :)
  • My girlfriends. It doesn’t matter how awesome your significant other and family are; you need your ladies.
  • Timmy! This little bugger makes me smile every day. He’s made my house a home.
  • My apartment. Aside from my noisy neighbors, it’s my little oasis. I’m coming up on three years there, and it’s by far the best place I’ve called home (besides my mom’s).
  • My job. As cheesy as it sounds, most days, I wake up excited to get to work. Not something I’ve always been able to say.
  • My coworkers. I work with some of the most talented people in Cleveland who inspire me and push me beyond my comfort zone. They’re also some of my greatest friends.
  • Freedom. I’m so thankful to live in a safe place, and that’s because of the men and women who sacrifice their comfort every day.
  • Running. I’m grateful I have my health and can run to stay fit. I’m running with one of my good friends tonight, and I’m already looking forward to it!
  • This blog! I never knew this blog would be so fulfilling, but it is. Every time someone tells me they read it, I squeal a little inside. To be able to write every week and share it with you guys makes me so happy. Thank you for reading.

thankful

I wish you all a joyous Thanksgiving with your families and a wonderful kick-off to the holiday season.

XO,
Liv

Leave a Reply

Anchored in CLE

One girl's adventures in Northeast Ohio.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

