Yummy Homemade Energy Bars

19 Nov

This blog post is dedicated to my little sister. Because she is the one who perfected this recipe—not me.

Me and my sister, living it up at OU

Me and my sister, living it up at OU

There are many reasons why I love and admire my sister, but one of those reasons is because of how multitalented she is. I mean, really. The girl can cook. She can bake. Sculpt. Draw. Craft. Run. And although I have a leg up on her with some things (anything that involves coordination, really), she’s always been slightly more blessed than me in the kitchen. I have to work to make a great meal. She just does it.

I visited her at college this past weekend before she came home for Thanksgiving, and as I drove away, I was left with the same pang in my stomach that I always have. She’s my best friend, and it’s hard to spend a whole weekend together and then leave her again. But the holidays are coming, and that means she’ll be here for a whole month. So expect more recipes from her cookbook!

These awesome energy bars are based on this recipe, but below is the combination my sister used. They were better than any store-bought bar I’ve had, and are of course healthier because they’re less processed.  She said she’s going to experiment with canned pumpkin and chocolate protein powder next. I’ll be around to taste test that for sure.

For easy portioning, bake them in muffin cups. They store well in the fridge. Enjoy!

  • 1-pound can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed (or 1.5 cups cooked beans)
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ cup honey
  • ¼ cup mashed banana
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 ½ cups of oats (you can toast them if you want, but I can’t tell the difference)
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup stir-ins: shredded coconut, dark chocolate chips, chopped nuts
Leave a Reply

Anchored in CLE

One girl's adventures in Northeast Ohio.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

